In this concert poster I wanted to portray Mac Miller in way that shows his vibrant lifestyle and music through the effects and graphics I used on the poster.

I emphasized Mac Miller’s hip hop lifestyle by aligning a picture of him to the right of the poster and leaving room above him and on the left side to include information. I wanted the poster to look as if it was influenced by the hip hop lifestyle in which Mac Miller lives. I chose to use big, vibrant, yellow wording for his title to make his name jump out. I then choose to outline his body with yellow, pulsing lines that imitate the hip hop beats that come from him as well as his vibrant personality. I felt I should highlight the wording of the location and time of the event in a different color because it is important information and I felt the need for it to stand out.

I found the entire Quark Xpress program to be challenging but manageable after a little time spent with it. I liked how it was easy to make my own lines to outline him and differentiate their thickness and style. Although I found this useful, I do believe I quarkpress is not as intricate and doesn’t have as many features as photoshop.

The only problem I encountered was getting the lines just how I wanted them too be. If I messed up just a little bit I had to restart the whole line.

I am most proud of the lines outlining Mac Miller because I felt it was a great addition to the poster that really made it stand out and gather the attention of people. I was also happy that I found that I can change the style and width of the lines because I made them bigger as they got further away. I wanted this to show that Mac Miller’s music is continuing to grow bigger as he produces more and more songs.

If I had more time I would have experimented with text wrapping and different angles for the text. However, I do believe this is the proper way to place the text because it helps it stand out more by being right there in front of you and easy to read.